Sylvain Manet, Countertenor / Clarinetist

Throughout his career Sylvain Manet wondered about the best way to transmit his music. Whether by the work of the verb and language in his song, by a choreographic approach to the movement of the musician, or by a simple word or a staging, he questions the codes of representation and seeks to create different listening arrangements.

It is with his group of Klezmer Paye ton Schtreimel that he confronts the public the most after having surveyed the streets, bars and festivals of France for 7 years. These experiences, in parallel to his clarinet studies at the CRR de Lille, allowed him to develop a scenic ease, a spontaneity necessary for the street arts.

He began singing in 2010 at the Lille Conservatory and went on to practice ancient music at the Baroque Music Center of Versailles (2014-2016) and then at the National Superior Music Conservatory of Lyon (2016-2020). He is currently in master of early music singing in the class of Robert Expert.

He wants to practice singing in its different aspects, as a soloist, as a chorister and in a small ensemble. He works regularly with Les Meslanges, Spirito, Les Voix Animées, Concerto Soave, l'Archivolte and performs with the Concert Spirituel, the lyric workshop of Tourcoing, the musicians of the Louvres. He will also be part of the next contemporary opera creation Jungle, a wild opera by the company Eclats in Bordeaux in the role of Sherekhan the tiger.

To support his research between music and movement, he trained in yoga, baroque dance with Béatrice Massin and in scenic and choreographic writing during an internship with Gisèle Vienne. He was also a performer and musician-actor for the Brigitte Nielsen Society, the Company in the tree and the XXY Collective.

Sylvain Manet, Contre-ténor / Clarinettiste

Tout au long de son parcours Sylvain Manet s'est interrogé sur la meilleure façon de transmettre sa musique. Que ce soit par le travail du verbe et de la langue dans son chant, par une approche chorégraphique du mouvement du musicien, soit par une parole simple ou une mise en scène, il remet en question les codes de la représentation et cherche à créer des dispositions d'écoute différentes.

C'est avec son groupe de Klezmer Paye ton Schtreimel qu'il se confronte le plus au public après avoir arpenté les rues, bars et festivals de France pendant 7 ans. Ces expériences, en parallèle à ses études de clarinette au CRR de Lille, lui ont permis de développer une aisance scénique, une spontanéité nécessaire aux arts de la rue.

Il commence le chant en 2010 au conservatoire de Lille et se dirige vers la pratique des musiques anciennes au Centre de Musique Baroque de Versailles (2014-2016) et ensuite au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Lyon (2016-2020). Il est actuellement en master de chant musique ancienne dans la classe de Robert Expert.

Il tient à pratiquer le chant dans ses différents aspect, en soliste, en choriste et en petit ensemble. Il travaille régulièrement avec Les Meslanges, Spirito, Les Voix Animées, Concerto Soave, l'Archivolte et se produit avec le Concert Spirituel, l'atelier lyrique de Tourcoing, les musiciens du Louvres. Il fera aussi parti de la prochaine création d'opéra contemporain Jungle, opéra sauvage de la compagnie Eclats à Bordeaux dans le rôle de Sherekhan le tigre.

Pour étayer ses recherches entre musique et mouvement, il se forme en yoga, danse baroque avec Béatrice Massin et en écriture scénique et chorégraphique lors d’un stage avec Gisèle Vienne. Il a aussi été performeur et musicien-acteur pour la Brigitte Nielsen Society, la Compagnie dans l’arbre et le Collectif XXY.